18,138 days after the first race won by Michel Leclère at Albi on March 20, 1971, Lorenzo Colombo (Bhaitech Racing) makes the final entry in the Formula Renault Eurocup record books with the win ahead of Victor Martins (ART Grand Prix) and Franco Colapinto (MP Motorsport). Fifth overall, Alex Quinn (Arden Motorsport) secures the rookie title.

On Friday, Lorenzo Colombo mastered the mixed track conditions to take his third consecutive and fourth pole position of the season. With a session-best time of 2:04.066s, the Italian driver lined up ahead of Victor Martins, Caio Collet (R-ace GP), Alex Quinn and Franco Colapinto.

The pole winner put in an excellent start to hold on to the lead ahead of Victor Martins while the action behind heated up. The duel for third place between Caio Collet and Alex Quinn actually turned to the advantage of Franco Colapinto when he surprised them during an opening lap paced by numerous incidents and contacts.

Lorenzo Colombo and Victor Martins quickly pulled away from the rest of the field. Now in an intense battle, the leaders pushed hard while also staying within just one second of one another. Despite the pressure of his rival, who won the title the day before, Lorenzo Colombo didn’t waver and stayed in control of the situation.

As was the case last year, Lorenzo Colombo made it a brace of victories at Circuit Paul Ricard as he finished ahead of Victor Martins and Franco Colapinto. Fifth behind Caio Collet, Alex Quinn won his eighth Hankook Trophy reserved for the highest placed newcomer to win the rookie title.

Michael Belov (R-ace GP) finished sixth ahead of William Alatalo (JD Motorsport) and wild-card entry Elias Seppänen (R-ace GP), into the top ten for his category debut after his ADAC F4 campaign. Thanks to his overtake on Amaury Cordeel (FA Racing) two laps from the end, David Vidales (JD Motorsport) came home in ninth place while the Belgian driver and his countryman Ugo de Wilde (Arden Motorsport) claimed the final points on offer.

Qualifying - Starting grid - Race

Victor Martins, ART Grand Prix and Alex Quinn win the three titles in this 50th season of Formula Renault. The top six drivers in the season-ending general classification represent six different teams, once again demonstrating the incredible competitiveness of a category that will now turn towards its traditional rookie tests, scheduled for December 8-9 at Circuit Paul Ricard if the health situation allows. This mark the final meeting in the history of Formula Renault prior to it becoming the Formula Regional European Championship by Alpine certified by the FIA next year.

Drivers classification - Rookies classification - Teams classification


Lorenzo Colombo (Bhaitech Racing): "It was a tough race, but I managed to win thanks to a perfect start! That makes it three victories in a row and four at this track. I am starting to love Circuit Paul Ricard. I would really like to congratulate the team for their work and our progress throughout the season. It’s great to end my fantastic experience in Formula Renault Eurocup on a high. I had a lot of fun while learning a lot and I would like to thank Renault for making me a more complete and more professional driver. Now let’s see what the future holds for me as I’m ready to seize every opportunity, whether in GT, prototypes or F3!"

Victor Martins (ART Grand Prix): "Our work and analyses have paid off again as we showed great improvement compared to yesterday. Unfortunately, I didn’t have the opportunity to overtake Lorenzo as I lost grip in some corners. I tried to lift before pushing again to push him into an error. He made some mistakes, but not enough to create an opening. It’s good to finish with another trophy and now it’s time to relax after four weeks of intense racing!"

Franco Colapinto (MP Motorsport): "This podium concludes a very positive year as I finish third in the championship. The car improved from yesterday and we had excellent pace, especially at the end of the race. This result also secures third place for us in the final team general classification. I can never thank MP Motorsport, nor my engineer and mechanics enough for the job they’ve done and the opportunity to drive with them this season. I have learned a lot from them and I hope it will serve me well in 2021!"

Alex Quinn (Arden Motorsport): "I am extremely happy to end the season with the rookie title. I am even more pleased because we experienced a rough patch during the year, but the team bounced back very well and we always finished in the top 5 in the final four-week sprint. I want to thank them all for this fantastic season. My future is still to be decided between the upper categories or a comeback in Formula Alpine to aim for the title. Everything will depend on the opportunities I will have and I I will have to make the right choices! "

Provisional general classification*
Drivers Points
1. Victor Martins (ART Grand Prix) 348
2. Caio Collet (R-ace GP) 304
3. Franco Colapinto (MP Motorsport) 213.5
4. Alex Quinn (Arden Motorsport) 183
5. Lorenzo Colombo (Bhaitech Racing) 170
... ...

*Results subject to confirmation following technical and sporting checks.